Monday, August 07, 2006

FIFA World Ranking: Italy-rank 2 as July 2006

The Italian national football team is the national association football team of Italy and is governed by the Italian Football Federation (FIGC - Federazione Italiana Giuoco Calcio). They are the current World Champions, having won the most recent FIFA World Cup.

Italy is the second most successful national team in World Cup play, having won four World Cups (1934, 1938, 1982, 2006), just one fewer than Brazil. To this tally they can add one European championship (1968), and one Olympic Gold Medal (1936).

The traditional colour of the national team (as well as of all Italian teams and athletes, except in motor sports) is sky blue[1] (azzurro, in Italian), and therefore national team members are nicknamed Azzurri.


During the earliest days of Italian nation football, it was common for a Technical Commission to be appointed. The Commission took the role that a standard coach would currently play. Since 1967, the national team has been controlled only by coaches.

For this reason, the coach of the Italian national team is still called Technical Commissioner (Commissario tecnico o CT).

Technical Commission (1910–1912)
Vittorio Pozzo (1912)
Technical Commission (1912–1924)
Vittorio Pozzo (1924)
Technical Commission (1924–1925)
Augusto Rangone (1925–1928)
Carlo Carcano (1928–1929)
Vittorio Pozzo (1929–1948) — World Champions 1934, World Champions 1938
Ferruccio Novo (1949–1950) — as Technical Commission Chairman
Technical Commission (1951)
Carlino Beretta (1952–1953)
Technical Commission (1953–1959)
Giuseppe Viani (1960)
Giovanni Ferrari (1960–1961)
Technical Commission (1962)
Edmondo Fabbri (1962–1966)
Technical Commission (1966–1967)
Ferruccio Valcareggi (1967–1974) — European Champions 1968, Runners-Up World Cup 1970
Fulvio Bernardini (1974–1975)
Enzo Bearzot (1975–1986) — World Champions 1982
Azeglio Vicini (1986–1991) — 3rd Place World Cup 1990
Arrigo Sacchi (1991–1996) — Runners-Up World Cup 1994
Cesare Maldini (1997–1998)
Dino Zoff (1998–2000) — Runners-Up European Championships 2000
Giovanni Trapattoni (2000–2004)
Marcello Lippi (2004–2006) — World Champions 2006
Roberto Donadoni (2006-current)

No comments: